Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Plucking a chicken  (Read 2743 times)
NanciG
Frequent Scribbler

« on: February 27, 2013, 09:04:19 AM »

I'm not entirely sure where to put this because it involves food and education.  This seems the most logical place. 

For an upcoming event it was suggested that we prepare a chicken.  As in the bird will be dispatched prior to the event, but we will need to pluck, clean and cook said bird in front of the public.  I am concerned about how this would go over with the public, which for this area will be a combination of farmers, hunters and at least half urbanites with no experience in this arena.  I have never done nor seen this process before either.  I don't want to cause trouble for the site nor offend the gentle guests.  I was wondering what experience you have had with interpreting this vein of food preparation in front of the public?  There will not be an entry gate as it's a more wander-in-from-the-parking-lot layout.  Did you prepare the public for what they may see?  How?  Did they like this level of interpretation?  Were they offended?  How did children react?

Thanks in advance for your input, I truly appreciate it.

Nanci Gasiel
Sherry Key
Frequent Scribbler

« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2013, 11:45:22 AM »

Nanci,

I'm afraid we take the easy way out.  We use a cleaned chicken and scatter chicken feathers about in one spot that we can point to without actually saying anything.  It usually suffices without offending modern sensibilities or children but gets the point across that it didn't come from the store. 

The chicken can still be cut-up and prepared in public without too much angst among spectators.

Hope that helps.
Sherry Key.

Sherry Key
South Carolina
lmkrausse
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2013, 11:56:13 AM »