Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: thoughts on this less than pleased young man?  (Read 4328 times)
Mrs Johnson
Frequent Scribbler

« on: October 15, 2014, 01:42:38 PM »

he'll be 12 in a few weeks.  i still need to add the buttons to his cuffs and finish his suspenders.

the shoes aren't the ones he's wearing at our events, but i didn't feel like fixing them up yet.  that's for next week.

~ Jennifer
Mrs Johnson
Frequent Scribbler

« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2014, 10:38:37 AM »

that bad huh?

what should i change?

~ Jennifer
Allison vV
Dedicated Scribbler

« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2014, 12:26:36 PM »

Not at all! Smiley Sorry, things seem a bit slow right now.

He's really looks good.  I'm sorry he's so unhappy.  Tell him he looks quite the young gentleman Smiley.

Please note: I am no expert.  Here are some things that I noticed.  Just some little touches to add to your excellent beginning.

The shirt looks like it might be just a tad too big in the shoulders and sleeves.  However, the shoulder width gives him room to grow, which is probably an acceptable design in young men's clothes.  You might want to taper the sleeve a little, so that it isn't quite so wide below the elbow.

The trouser shape looks good.  For next time, I think the rise (crotch to waistband) could be a little higher.  The waist level looks a wee bit low.  I see a little bit of the lining peeking out at the fly.  It's helpful to sew that in just behind the edge, so it doesn't show. This is probably an easy fix -- just a matter of picking out a section of the seam and fudging the seam allowances.  Take a greater seam allowance from the lining, and a lesser from the trouser material.

One more thing, it might just be the picture, but the trousers look like they taper quite suddenly at the ankle.  Is the hem just caught on the top of the shoes?

Congratulations!  I just finished fitting out my brother, so I know how much work went into those pieces. 

Allison van Vegten